Events: Details

      1 2 3 4
5 6 7 8 9 10 11
12 13 14 15 16 17 18
19 20 21 22 23 24 25
26 27 28        

Banff Meeting featuring Lois Pollack, Abbas Ourmazd, and Marius Schmidt

Category: Meeting

desy logo

5th Banff Meeting on Structural Dynamics (19-22 Feb 2017)

Recent years have seen dramatic successes in providing ‘atomic level views’ of important transient phenomena in materials, molecular and even biomolecular systems. These landmark studies were enabled by breakthroughs in high time-resolution x-ray and electron diffraction, crystallography, spectroscopy and imaging.

The future of this emerging field looks incredibly bright, with major advances in electron source intensity and coherence as well dramatic new capabilities from X-ray free-electron lasers. Along with new methods to take advantage of these sources, we have new disruptive technologies that are driving this field. The Banff Meeting in Structural Dynamics was founded to provide the perfect forum to disseminate the latest spectacular developments in opening up new vistas with atomic clarity. The first four meetings held in 2010, 2012, 2013, and 2015 were a resounding success and will be continued to provide an opportunity to meet and discuss current problems and chart a course for further successes.

Tentative session outline:
Latest Developments in ultrafast electron and x-ray sources
Dynamic and diffractive imaging of molecules (diffractive imaging and laser alignment)
Time-resolved x-ray spectroscopy of complex molecules
Strongly correlated materials
Structural dynamics in molecules and biomolecular systems

Important Dates
  • Oct 12, 2016 abstract submission opens
  • Early bird registration before Dec 20, 2016
  • Jan 9, 2017 abstract submission deadline (talks)
  • Jan 30, 2017 late abstract submission deadline (posters)
  • Registration deadline, February 6, 2017
  • Feb 19-22, 2017 conference
Conference Organizers

Henry Chapman (DESY CFEL, Hamburg, Germany)
Nigel Browning (PNNL, Washington, USA)

Confirmed Invited Speakers
  • Peter Baum (LMU)
  • Yiwei Chang (Caltech)
  • Lin X. Chen (Northwestern)
  • Kelly Gaffney (SLAC)
  • Doga Gursoy (ANL)
  • Franz Kaertner (CFEL)
  • Shinya Koshihara (Tokyo)
  • Rowan Leary (Cambridge) - tentative
  • Renkai Li (SLAC)
  • Joe McKeown (LLNL)
  • Keith Nelson (MIT)
  • Abbas Ourmazd (UWM)
  • Lois Pollack (Cornell)
  • Lu-Chang Qin (UNC)
  • Claus Ropers (GAU)
  • Petra Rudolph (RUG)
  • Daniela Rupp (TU Berlin)
  • Marius Schmidt (UWM)
  • Nico Sommerdijk (Eindhoven UT)
  • Renske van der Veen (U Illinois)
  • Laura Waller (UC Berkeley)
  • Jie Yang (SLAC)
  • Yimei Zhu (BNL)

Registration and details here 

When: From Thursday, February 2 2017 - 08:00 AM (ET) (UTC -05:00) Eastern Time (US & Canada), Bogota, Lima
To Thursday, February 23 2017 - 00:00 AM (ET) (UTC -05:00) Eastern Time (US & Canada), Bogota, Lima
Where: Alberta, Canada