Four University at Buffalo professors have been elected fellows of the American Association for the Advancement of Science (AAAS), the world's largest general scientific society and publisher of the journal Science.

The honor is bestowed on AAAS members by their peers for their scientifically or socially distinguished efforts to advance science applications. The UB faculty members were among 489 members to receive the prestigious distinction this year.

The new UB fellows include:

  • Eaton Lattman, PhD, emeritus professor of materials design and innovation in the UB School of Engineering and Applied Sciences, and of structural biology in the Jacobs School of Medicine and Biomedical Sciences at UB.
  • Xiufeng Liu, PhD, professor of learning and instruction in the UB Graduate School of Education.
  • Janet Morrow, PhD, UB Distinguished Professor and Larkin Professor of chemistry in the UB College of Arts and Sciences.
  • Stefan Ruhl, DDS, PhD, professor of oral biology in the UB School of Dental Medicine.

AAAS Fellows will be recognized in the journal Science on Nov. 27. An induction ceremony will be held during the virtual AAAS Fellows Forum on Feb. 13.

See the full article here.